Candy AI Alternatives: What You Pay For

Candy AI runs on one pool of tokens that pays for chat, photo generation, voice and video at once, sold through a monthly, quarterly or yearly plan — pick a length, and everything done inside the app draws down the same balance until it's topped up. That's the model eight products are compared against below, Candy AI and TooShy both included: not who has more characters, but what a subscription actually buys, what gets billed separately, and whether the number is visible before a card gets entered. Some of the eight print an exact price down to what one voice message costs in tokens; others name three tiers and leave the dollar figure off every page checked.
A subscription price alone answers less than it looks like it does. Two products can charge roughly the same amount a month and mean different things by it — one bundles unlimited photos into that number, another charges the same amount just to unlock messaging and then meters every photo separately. Below is what each of the eight actually states about that, sourced from their own pricing or terms pages rather than from a review site's summary of them.
What Candy AI's subscription actually buys
Candy AI's own homepage doesn't put a dollar figure on any of its three plan lengths — the monthly option is "flexible and affordable," the quarterly is for someone who wants "a bit more consistency," and the yearly is "full access and no breaks in between." Every length includes, in its own words, "a generous batch of tokens to use across voice, chat, image, and video," spent faster the more detailed the companion gets. Running low isn't a hard stop — "top up anytime, no fuss" — but nothing on that page states the size of the batch before a plan is chosen.
The token count only shows up one page over, in the terms of service: a paid subscription carries "unlimited access to the messaging system as well as a monthly amount of tokens disclosed to you during checkout (generally 100 per month)." Tokens can't be transferred or cashed out, and unused ones expire at the end of the billing period. Cancelling doesn't need a support ticket — the same terms describe a self-service "Settings/Unsubscribe" path — but the subscription auto-renews by default. Payment is deliberately quiet: cards plus five named cryptocurrencies, with a promise that transactions are "encrypted and discreet — nothing flashy on your bank statements."
Eight products, Candy AI included as the subject rather than an alternative to itself, ordered by how clearly each one states what a subscription buys.
Candy AI
The subscription this list is built to replace
- Platform
- Web, installable as a PWA
- Price
- Monthly, quarterly and yearly plans; no dollar figure on the homepage, ~100 tokens/month disclosed at checkout per its own terms
- Free tier
- Plans described as low-commitment ("no pressure"); no stated free trial length
- Download
- None — browser or PWA install
Tokens cover chat, voice, image and video from one pool. Cancels via a self-service Settings/Unsubscribe link per its own terms; auto-renews by default.
DreamGF
The only one that prices a single photo or voice message by the token
- Platform
- Web
- Price
- 3-month $12.99 then $25.99/mo; Monthly $29.97 then $77.97/3mo; Annual $69.99 then $311.88/yr
- Free tier
- Not stated on the pricing page
- Download
- None
100 tokens/month included; extra costs 20 tokens per companion generated, 10 per image, 3 per voice message, 7 per minute of voice calling. "Cancel anytime."
One flat annual number, nothing metered underneath it
- Platform
- Web + native app
- Price
- $94.99/year (vs $119.88 paying monthly, a stated 21% saving)
- Free tier
- Free tier exists; c.ai+ adds memory, priority and customization
- Download
- Web and native app
Sells memory, pins and priority, never tokens for photos or voice. "Subscription auto-renews yearly. Cancel in settings anytime."
Feature list and price live on two different pages, and existing subscribers' price is locked
- Platform
- Web app
- Price
- Get A Taste $5.95/mo, True Supporter $19.95/mo, I'm All In $29.95/mo (raised from $5.00/$14.95/$24.95 on Sept 8, 2026)
- Free tier
- Not stated on the pricing FAQ
- Download
- None listed
Tiers are described by context memory and features on a separate page. A subscriber "keeps paying the price you are paying today" as long as the plan stays unchanged.
TooShy
Flat monthly number, nothing sold by the token
- Platform
- WhatsApp + Telegram
- Price
- Premium $9.99/mo, Ultra $19/mo
- Free tier
- Free trial in Telegram, no card. None on WhatsApp.
- Download
- None — runs in the messenger already installed
No token balance and no per-photo charge once subscribed. Dozens of characters live, all curated rather than user-built.
Nomi
The clearest free start, the quietest number after it
- Platform
- Web, iOS, Android
- Price
- Referenced only as a "year subscription"; no figure stated on the homepage
- Free tier
- "Free (no credit card required) to start chatting"
- Download
- Web and native app
Cancellation and refund policies exist as separate linked pages; neither states the subscription price itself.
Kindroid
Didn't load for us
- Platform
- Not verified
- Price
- Not verified
- Free tier
- Not verified
- Download
- Not verified
Returned a stalled connection screen ("Connection looks slow. Tap to Retry") on the attempt made for this comparison — nothing here is claimed from a page that couldn't actually be read.
CrushOn AI
Blocked automated access
- Platform
- Not verified
- Price
- Not verified
- Free tier
- Not verified
- Download
- Not verified
Returned an access block instead of a page on the date checked; no price or tier is stated here as a result.
What the other alternatives publish about price
DreamGF is the most specific of the eight about what a token actually buys, not just what a membership costs. Its pricing page lists three memberships, each with an introductory figure and a separate recurring one: 3-month at $12.99 to start, $25.99/mo after; monthly at $29.97 to start, $77.97/3mo after; annual at $69.99 to start, $311.88/yr after. Every tier includes 100 tokens a month, voice calls, and faster image generation, plus — the one place any of the eight names a media paywall outright — "Remove Blur from Images" as a paid feature. Past the included balance, tokens cost 20 for a companion, 10 for an image, 3 for a voice message, 7 per minute of calling. It states "cancel anytime" and keeps one-off token purchases separate from recurring membership fees.
Character.AI prices its subscription the same way regardless of what it's used for: c.ai+ is $94.99 a year, shown next to $119.88 for paying monthly instead, a stated 21% saving. What that money buys is memory, priority and customization — no ads, "best" memory instead of "basic," 30 saved pins instead of 15, priority queue access — never a token balance spent on photos or voice, because the product doesn't sell those as line items. Its subscription page states plainly: "subscription auto-renews yearly. Cancel in settings anytime" — one number, one renewal date, nothing metered underneath it.
SpicyChat splits its price and its feature list across two different pages. Its premium-features documentation names three tiers — Get A Taste, True Supporter, I'm All In — by what each unlocks: context memory from 4K up to 32K tokens, conversation images, text-to-speech and priority generation, no dollar figure printed anywhere on that page. The numbers live on a separate pricing-update notice: $5.95, $19.95 and $29.95 a month as of September 8, 2026, up from $5.00, $14.95 and $24.95 before that date. That same notice locks in whatever a subscriber already pays — "you'll keep paying the price you are paying today as long as you keep your subscription active and never let it expire" — for as long as the plan stays unchanged.
Nomi publishes the opposite gap: a clear entry point and a quiet number after it. Its homepage states plainly that it's "free (no credit card required) to start chatting" and separately references a "year subscription" without stating what it costs on that page. A cancellation policy and a refund policy both exist as their own linked pages rather than folded into the pricing story, and neither the price nor a token-style breakdown of what a subscription unlocks appears on the page we could load.
Two more of the eight couldn't be checked at all. Kindroid's site returned nothing but a stalled connection screen — "Connection looks slow. Tap to Retry" — on the attempt made for this comparison, so no price, tier, or cancellation term from Kindroid appears here. CrushOn AI's homepage returned a flat access block instead of a page. Both are left unverified rather than filled in from a third-party review, the same standard applied to every other entry.
Where TooShy sits, priced the same way
TooShy prices two tiers flatly: Premium at $9.99 a month, Ultra at $19, both stated on the pricing page before anyone signs up for anything. Neither tier sells tokens, and there's no separate charge for a photo or a voice note once subscribed — the number on the pricing page is the number paid, every month, for everything the tier includes. The Telegram trial is free with no card required; WhatsApp itself has had no free tier since it went paid-only, and getting in there means picking Premium or Ultra first. What's on offer is a curated set of dozens of characters, not a build-your-own generator, and none of them are sold by the token.
Our own numbers, the last 30 days
These are aggregates from TooShy's own production database over the 30 days ending September 20, 2026 — no individual conversation or person identifiable in any of them. 44,120 messages went through the two messengers combined, from 460 people who held an actual conversation, and 425 new people signed up in that same window. An active conversation ran 64 messages on average, the longest single one reached 899, and the typical wait for a reply was 17 seconds. Only 1.1% of everything sent was something other than typed text.
What these products genuinely do better
A few things here are real, worth naming plainly. DreamGF's line-item token pricing — an exact cost for a companion, an image, a voice message, a minute of calling — is a level of detail TooShy's flat monthly number doesn't offer. Candy AI's payment page is also genuinely broader: five named cryptocurrencies alongside cards, and a stated promise about how the charge reads on a bank statement, something TooShy hasn't published anything equivalent to. And SpicyChat's price-lock language, guaranteeing an existing subscriber's rate stays fixed as long as the plan is unchanged, is a written commitment that goes further than a plain "cancel anytime" line.
TooShy's honest limits here
The gaps run the other way too. TooShy has no per-item price list — no way to state what one extra photo "costs," because nothing here is metered by the item. Payment options are narrower than Candy AI's, and nothing has been published about how a charge appears on a bank statement, a real absence next to a competitor that states it outright. The character roster is fixed and curated rather than built from scratch, and the Telegram trial's ceiling isn't published as a number the way DreamGF's token counts are. WhatsApp has no free way in at all.
Who each one actually fits
If knowing the exact cost of one more photo or one more minute of voice matters before committing, DreamGF is the only one of the eight that puts that number in writing. If a single, unchanging number with no metering underneath it is the goal, Character.AI's $94.99 a year and TooShy's flat $9.99 or $19 a month are both that shape, just built around different products.
If starting for nothing matters more than knowing the eventual number, Nomi's free entry point is the most explicit about that. If discretion on a bank statement and the widest menu of payment methods is the deciding factor, that's Candy AI's actual advantage over the rest of this list, TooShy included. And if a written promise that a price won't quietly rise while the plan stays the same is the priority, SpicyChat's price-lock is the one commitment stated in exactly those terms.
How we checked these facts
Every claim above about a competitor comes from a page fetched and read directly on September 21, 2026 — a homepage, a pricing page, a terms-of-service page, or a documentation page belonging to that company, quoted rather than paraphrased from someone else's write-up. Where a site returned an error or wouldn't load at all, that's stated as exactly that instead of a guess dressed up as a fact. TooShy's own figures come from its production database over the same rolling 30-day window, aggregated so no individual message, person, or conversation is identifiable in any of it.
None of this settles which product feels right to talk to — that's answered by trying one. It does state, in each company's own words, what a subscriber is agreeing to pay for: a shared token pool, a metered one, a flat number, or in a couple of cases here, no published number at all.
Frequently asked questions
What does Candy AI's subscription actually include?
Which Candy AI alternative publishes the clearest price breakdown?
Does TooShy charge extra for photos or voice the way Candy AI's tokens do?
Is there a free way to try any of these before paying?
Which of these locks in your price if it rises later?
Why don't Kindroid and CrushOn AI have prices listed here?
Does Character.AI meter photos or voice the way Candy AI does?
How does TooShy's price compare to Candy AI's?
How we checked the facts
Every competitor claim on this page traces to a page we loaded ourselves, listed here with the date we checked it. TooShy's own numbers come from its production database, not from these sources.
- Candy AI homepage — plan descriptions, token pooling, payment methods — checked 2026-09-21
- Candy AI terms of service — token disclosure, cancellation, auto-renewal — checked 2026-09-21
- DreamGF pricing — membership figures and per-action token costs — checked 2026-09-21
- Character.AI c.ai+ subscription page — price and renewal terms — checked 2026-09-21
- SpicyChat premium features documentation — tier names and inclusions — checked 2026-09-21
- SpicyChat September 2026 pricing update FAQ — actual prices and price-lock terms — checked 2026-09-21
- Nomi homepage — free-start wording and subscription reference — checked 2026-09-21
- Kindroid homepage — attempted, returned a stalled connection screen — checked 2026-09-21
- CrushOn AI homepage — attempted, access blocked — checked 2026-09-21